Doohan Luckless at Pau

Doohan Luckless at Pau

Jack Doohan has encountered a luckless outing in the 78th Grand Prix de Pau in France for Round 2 of the Euroformula Championship.

Race 3 - Position DNF

Following rain-affected practice around the Pau street circuit, dry conditions arrived in France for Euroformula Open qualifying on Saturday with Doohan P12 on the grid overall for Race 1.

Light rain reappeared ahead of Round 3, which led to a delay to the start and also resulted in some drivers gambling on running wet-weather Michelin tyres – Doohan included.

As the cars headed onto the formation lap the rain initially worsened, but shortly after the action got underway the precipitation ceased and so the slick-shod cars were the ones in the box seat.

Doohan, of course, had no option but to pit for slicks after a couple of laps when the anticipated worsening rainfall failed to arrive and he rejoined the race in P15.

Making great progress, the F3 newcomer moved into the points-paying top 10 and all looked good but, with just a handful of laps to go, unfortunate contact with the barriers at Turn Seven caused his retirement.

Race 4 - Position DNF

Unpredictable weather again played a major role in the 78th Grand Prix de Pau on Sunday.

Qualifying earlier in the day started dry before red flags were shown following an unfortunate accident for Doohan.

When the session resumed, rain had arrived again and so no further improvements were possible and Doohan finished in P12.

Doohan moved into P10 on the Race opening and after a Safety Car period on Lap 3, the action got back underway.

Light rain which had been in the air stopped briefly but on Lap 4 Doohan’s race came to an early end after the rear of his car was tagged. 

“Pau was a cool experience but got nothing to show for it. Hockenheim’s up next this weekend, I’m positive it will be a good one. Thanks to Double R Racing for the hard work all weekend.” 


  • 1 - Liam LAWSON, Team Motopark, 64 points
  • 2 - Mario SATO, Team Motopark, 50 points
  • 3 - Lukas DUNNER, Teo Martin Motorsport, 43 points
  • 4 - Linus LUNDQVIST, Double R Racing, 33 points
  • 5 - Yuki TSUNODA, Team Motopark, 26 points
  • 12 - Jack DOOHAN, Double R Racing, 4 points